School of Medical Laboratory Science - About

The School of Medical Laboratory Science, known as the School of Medical Technology until 2012, was founded in 1950. It is accredited by the National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Science (NAACLS), 5600 River Road, Suite 720, Rosemont, IL 60018, 773-714-8880,

The fifty-two week program provides a structured educational experience which includes lectures and medical laboratory rotations. Students experience two rotations through most laboratory departments, developing the knowledge and skills required to perform, interpret, and trouble-shoot laboratory testing by automated, semi-automated, and manual methods in a state-of-the-art medical center laboratory under qualified supervision.

The program has three clinical laboratory sites: Mercy Hospital Joplin and Mercy Hospital Springfield, and Mercy Hospital Columbus, KS. All students participate together in classroom lecture sessions, either in person or by WebEx video/audio.

The program has two start dates, in January and July. A maximum of four students are accepted in each class. Students wishing to enter the January class must have submitted all application materials by August 1 of the previous year. Students wishing to enter the July class must submit all application materials by November 1 of the previous year.

The program operates Monday through Friday with a typical day beginning at 7:00 a.m. and ending at 3:30 p.m. Some educational experiences may only be available outside the normal hours of operation of the program. Students are advised in advance of these experiences.

Students are evaluated based on their academic achievement, laboratory performance and professional behavior throughout the program year.   

The MLS program awards a certificate upon successful completion of the year. The certificate plus an appropriate baccalaureate degree allows the student to sit for a national certification examination.