Hot Springs wins Innovator Award

May 28, 2011


St. Joseph's Mercy's Betty Irvin, Kim

Gillham and Anita Gottlieb receive the

award from Joe McCannon of the Centers

for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

St. Joseph’s Mercy Health Center has earned an Innovator Award through the Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care and its annual Quality Awards program.

The Quality Awards are designed to recognize improvement in individual health care organizations’ performance in Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care’s quality improvement projects. The Innovator Award honors hospitals that develop new, creative patient safety projects that successfully improve patient care.

St. Joseph’s Mercy received this award for the successful implementation of the Sisters of Mercy Health System’s electronic health record.

“This transition from a paper record to system was implemented in both acute and outpatient areas. It has eliminated duplication and repetitive collection of information and provided support measures to prevent errors,” wrote the AFMC in a release.

Joe McCannon from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services presented the award to St. Joseph’s Mercy at the AFMC’s Quality Conference in Little Rock. Accepting the award were Kim Gillham, executive director for patient care services, Anita Gottlieb, executive director of quality assurance, and Betty Irvin, RN, Nursing Informatics.

Story Covered By

Media Contacts