One Mission, One Name: Mercy

May 1, 2012

Rogers, Ar– As the nation’s eighth largest Catholic health system, Mercy has a long tradition of caring for patients across the seven states it serves. Now the health system is taking steps to create a more meaningful and unified identity. To that end, the health system has begun a plan to move the facilities in its 100 communities across the region to one name: Mercy.

The seven Mercy hospitals and more than 70 outpatient facilities in Arkansas are transitioning to one Mercy name and a new Mercy logo. The change began January 30 in Berryville, Ark., when St. John’s Hospital became Mercy Hospital Berryville. Here in Rogers, Mercy of Northwest Arkansas already made the change from St. Mary’s to Mercy when we moved to our new location in 2008. On April 30, we adopted the new Mercy logo as well, and on May 7, St. Edward Mercy Medical Center in Fort Smith will celebrate the move to Mercy Hospital Fort Smith.

“As our electronic health record has allowed Mercy physicians and providers to coordinate care across our multiple facilities and communities, the adoption of  one name and one logo across our ministry, will serve as an access to care for our patients and communities,” said Scott Street, president of Mercy Northwest Arkansas.

For patients, different names have long been confusing. Case in point:

When Jarrod Anderson’s red-headed toddler got sick while they were visiting grandparents in Edmond, Okla., they sought medical help. Understandably, the Andersons made no connection between their hometown physician at Garrett Goss Clinic in Northwest Arkansas and Kelly Stephens, a pediatrician at Mercy Edmond Memorial Clinic in Oklahoma.

“We had no idea that the clinic in Oklahoma was in any way tied to our doctor in Northwest Arkansas,” said Anderson, father of three. “And yet, they were both Mercy facilities.”

Although the different facility names proved confusing, the Andersons still benefitted because of Mercy’s electronic health record. Both doctors in Oklahoma and Arkansas could read the toddler’s medical record and could track all of his care. Moving forward, Mercy will not only be connected electronically but share a consistent name and logo.

“The Mercy name is a tribute to the Sisters of Mercy who founded our ministry and led us to where we are today,” said Kim Day, president of Mercy’s Arkansas communities. “By adopting the one name that has always bound us in spirit, we will make it easier for the people we serve to recognize we are one Mercy. People across Arkansas will benefit from having their electronic health record available at all the locations across the state.”

The new Mercy symbol is a contemporary version of the original cross which Catherine McAuley, founder of the Sisters of Mercy, adopted for her ministry. The outer extensions of the cross represent a ministry that is diverse but aligned around a common purpose, forming a cross-within-a-cross. For Catherine, the inner cross was a reminder that we should dedicate ourselves to the work God has given us, take up our own cross and serve with a deep respect for others.


Mercy Northwest Arkansas employs 1,500 people. It includes a 165-bed Mercy Medical Center in Rogers, Ambulatory Surgery Center in Bentonville, and 27 Mercy Clinic locations within the Northwest Arkansas region; Bella Vista, Bentonville, Centerton, Lowell, Rogers and Noel, Mo.  Mercy Northwest Arkansas employs more than 120 integrated providers across Northwest Arkansas. Effective April 30, Mercy Health System of Northwest Arkansas and its Clinics will become Mercy Northwest Arkansas and Mercy Clinic. Mercy Northwest Arkansas is part of Mercy of St.Louis, Mo. – the nation’s eighth largest Catholic health care organization.

Mercy – is the eighth largest Catholic health care system in the U.S. and serves more than 3 million people annually. Mercy includes 31 hospitals, more than 200 outpatient facilities, 38,000 co-workers and 1,500 integrated physicians in Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma. Mercy also has outreach ministries in Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas.