Mercy Awarded Certification from The Joint Commission

June 5, 2012

The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval™


Mercy Hospital Springfield has earned The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval™ for its Joint Replacement Hip and Joint Replacement Knee programs by demonstrating compliance with The Joint Commission’s national standards for health care quality and safety in disease-specific care. The certification award recognizes Mercy Hospital Springfield’s dedication to continuous compliance with The Joint Commission’s state-of-the-art standards.

Mercy underwent a rigorous on-site survey in April 2012. A Joint Commission expert surveyor evaluated Mercy for compliance with standards of care specific to the needs of patients and families, including infection prevention and control, leadership and medication management.

"In achieving Joint Commission certification, Mercy has demonstrated its commitment to the highest level of care for its patients needing joint replacement," says Jean Range,M.S., R.N., C.P.H.Q.executive director, Disease-Specific Care Certification, The Joint Commission. “Certification is a voluntary process and I commend Mercy for successfully undertaking this challenge to elevate its standard of care and instill confidence in the community it serves.”

"With Joint Commission certification, we are making a significant investment in quality on a day-to-day basis from the top down. Joint Commission accreditation provides us a framework to take our organization to the next level and helps create a culture of excellence,” says Kevin Rash, M.P.T., vice president of operations, Mercy Hospital Springfield.  “Achieving Joint Commission certification in Joint Replacement Hip and Joint Replacement Knee programs, for our organization, is a major step toward maintaining excellence and continually improving the care we provide.  Many thanks to the orthopedic excellence committee who prepared for this survey and accreditation, specifically Mike Nachtigal, M.D., Shannon Hauschildt, P.A., Melissa Myers, R.N., Lyndsey Davidson, R.N., and Paul Moore, R.N.”

The Joint Commission’s Disease-Specific Care Certification Program, launched in 2002, is designed to evaluate clinical programs across the continuum of care. Certification requirements address three core areas: compliance with consensus-based national standards; effective use of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines to manage and optimize care; and an organized approach to performance measurement and improvement activities.


About The Joint Commission

Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 19,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including more than 10,300 hospitals and home care organizations, and more than 6,500 other health care organizations that provide long term care, behavioral health care, laboratory and ambulatory care services. The Joint Commission currently certifies more than 2,000 disease-specific care programs, focused on the care of patients with chronic illnesses such as stroke, joint replacement, stroke rehabilitation, heart failure and many others. The Joint Commission also provides health care staffing services certification for more than 750 staffing offices. An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation's oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at

Media Contacts

Sonya Kullmann
Berryville, Branson, Cassville, Lebanon, Mountain View, Rolla, Springfield, Aurora
Phone: 417-820-2426