Mercy Oklahoma Communities Adopt New Symbol

June 22, 2012

Rev. Lin Stern, of Ardmore, blesses the new

symbol and co-workers at the June 4 celebration;

below, the new Mercy symbol

OKLAHOMA – Mercy has a new look. With Mercy communities in Oklahoma adopting the updated brand, all four states Mercy serves now share the same symbol, name and mission.

Mercy Health Center May 31 became Mercy Hospital Oklahoma City, and officially adopted the new Mercy logo, along with Mercy Hospital El Reno and Mercy Hospital Logan County. That day, the three hospitals celebrated the transition with co-worker celebrations and blessings.

Four days later and about two hours south, Mercy Memorial Health Center became Mercy Hospital Ardmore and adopted the new logo, as did Mercy Hospital Healdton and Mercy Hospital Tishomingo. As the celebrations wrapped up in south Oklahoma, the brand transition that started last September in St. Louis was complete.

As one of the “Most Wired” health systems in the nation with the ability to access and share electronic medical records across facilities, it only makes sense that Sisters of Mercy Health System’s 100 communities in seven states should share one name: Mercy.

Less than a week after the transition was complete in southern Oklahoma, Mercy Hospitals El Reno and Logan County launched electronic health records, connecting to 22 other Mercy Hospitals and countless Mercy Clinics across four states.

“We owe it to the 3 million patients we serve each year to know us by one name,” said Lynn Britton, Mercy president and CEO. “Adopting the Mercy name is not so much a change as a natural evolution. Our electronic health record has allowed our physicians and medical teams to coordinate care across facilities, communities and even states in ways that were never before possible. It has opened up a whole new world of more convenient and personalized care for our patients.”

Over the next year, Mercy facilities in Oklahoma will install signs bearing the new Mercy cross, a contemporary version of the original cross which Catherine McAuley, founder of the Sisters of Mercy, adopted for her ministry. The outer extensions of the cross represent a ministry that is diverse but aligned around a common purpose, forming a cross-within-a-cross. For Catherine, the inner cross was a reminder that we should dedicate ourselves to the work God has given us, take up our own cross and serve with a deep respect for others.

 Story Covered By

Media Contacts