Mercy Hospital Jefferson Name Effective April 1

March 13, 2013

Cardiac Rehab nurse Connie Huber, RN,

 shows her team spirit with the new

Mercy Heart Walk T-shirt while she checked

on patient Sharon Gray of Herculaneum.

CRYSTAL CITY, MO – On April 1 Jefferson Regional Medical Center officially becomes Mercy Hospital Jefferson. In addition, all hospital-based programs will be identified by the Mercy name and logo.

The hospital’s new name follows Mercy’s identity standards, introduced in 2011 when Mercy adopted new names and a common logo across its seven-state area. All 32 hospitals within Mercy are named “Mercy Hospital” followed by a geographic designation, usually a community name. Examples include Mercy Hospital St. Louis and Mercy Hospital Washington.


“The use of Jefferson as part of the hospital’s new name honors the long-standing Jefferson identity and reflects the geographic area served,” said interim hospital CEO Jeff Buck.


Mercy adopted the common naming standard to better connect all services and facilities, and to simplify Mercy’s naming system, said Donn Sorensen, interim president and regional president for Mercy's east Missouri region.


“Across all of the communities we serve, we want people to know us as Mercy and to understand that our hospitals, physician clinics and other services are all part of a united team,” Sorensen said. “We are excited to extend the Mercy name and mission in the Jefferson County area.”


The Mercy logo and and color scheme project an image that is vibrant, modern and memorable. The four colors create an inner white cross. The cross-within-a-cross was originally used by Catherine McAuley, the founder of the Sisters of Mercy. The inner cross is a reminder that we should dedicate ourselves to the work God has given us, take up our own cross and selflessly show mercy and respect for others.


Temporary signage featuring the Mercy logo will replace Jefferson Regional signage throughout the hospital campus. New permanent signs will be installed throughout the spring. New patient forms and printed materials will be available in many cases, but some Jefferson Regional materials may still be utilized to use up available stock and be good stewards of the resources. All forms will be converted within six months.


Established as Jefferson Memorial Hospital in 1957, Mercy Hospital Jefferson is a 251-bed private, not-for-profit hospital in Crystal City. Mercy is the sixth largest Catholic health care system in the U.S. and serves more than 3 million people annually. Mercy includes 32 hospitals, 300 outpatient facilities, 38,000 co-workers and 1,900 integrated physicians in Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma. Mercy also has outreach ministries in Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. In addition to the Crystal City location in the east Missouri region, Mercy’s services include a 979-bed hospital in St. Louis, 187-bed hospital in Washington, and Mercy Clinic, a 575-member multispecialty physician organization. For more about Mercy, visit

Media Contacts