Mercy Clinic Joplin Shares ED Doctors with Carthage

January 31, 2014

You may have noticed some new faces in the Mercy McCune-Brooks Hospital Emergency Department. In December, Mercy Clinic Joplin Emergency Department physicians expanded their award winning services to Mercy Carthage. Bob Copeland, Mercy Carthage President, believes that providing quality ED physicians is a chief obligation of any community hospital and is thrilled to have the Mercy ED group join the staff.  Copeland commented, “The Mercy ED physicians group embodies the Mercy mission of bringing to life the healing ministry of Jesus through their compassionate care and exceptional service. “

When fully staffed the ED group will share 25 providers including the Board-Certified, Emergency Medicine Residency-Trained physicians and specially trained mid-level providers with Mercy Carthage. The group has received a 4 star rating from Professional Research consultants (PRC), a marketing research company, ranking first out of 36 participating Mercy hospitals in patient satisfaction.

Dr. Sean Smith, Mercy Joplin Clinic Physician President lives in Carthage. Smith said he was honored to be able to care for his neighbors. Smith noted, “We are thrilled to become a part of Mercy Carthage and share our physicians with their emergency department. Looking at the big picture, it’s another way we can continue to grow Mercy’s mission and beliefs. Having our physicians and mid-level providers, many of whom live in the Carthage community currently, caring for patients in both communities is a large benefit to us, as well as our patients. Aligning both hospitals is just another way to offer the best communication and quality of care.” Ken Stewart, DO, a physician member of the team coming to Carthage added, “I love practicing medicine in a faith-based department and hospital, it allows us to care for the whole person; we don’t have to side step the issue.” 

Linda Carnes, RN manager Mercy Carthage Emergency Department says, “The transition to Mercy Integrated ED physicians has been seamless. The emergency room staff have been warm and welcoming to the new physicians – which is our culture and one of the five dimensions of Mercy Signature Service. In addition, we can now truly say we are ‘One Mercy’.”

Mercy Carthage ED providers include: Dr. Sean Smith, Dr. David Hagadorn, Dr. Charles Featherly, Dr. Clint Loy, Dr. Michael Kutmas, Dr. Ed Wiegers, Dr. Jim Morgan, Dr. Mark Brecheisen, Dr. Jim Roscoe, Dr. John Coleman, Dr. Kevin Kitka, Dr. Eric Hogan, Dr. Erik Martin, Jenn Smith, FNP, Judith Russell, FNP, and Kristin Wagner, FNP. The list of providers will expand in July and again in the spring of 2015 when the new Mercy Joplin Hospital is completed.

Prior to December, Mercy Carthage contracted with an independent physician group who provided excellent services in ED to the community. Transitioning to Mercy Joplin Clinic ER will continue this tradition but allow for increased information sharing with other Mercy Clinic providers resulting in more complete care. Everyone at Mercy McCune-Brooks thanks the physician group for their excellent service.

Media Contacts