Mercy Joplin and Carthage Name March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Finalist!

October 24, 2014

Approximately 1,200 guests are expected to attend the 2014 March of Dimes Nurse of the Year. This year the presenting sponsor is the Catherine McAuley School of Nursing at Maryville University. Mercy Joplin and Carthage have a total of 20 nurses advancing as finalists. The event is October 25, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. at the Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel.

The March of Dimes will present awards to 20 nurses who exemplify an extraordinary level of patient care, compassion and customer service in their specific disciplines.

The March of Dimes Missouri Chapter received nearly 600 nominations for its third annual Nurse of the Year. Nurses employed in the state of Missouri and Illinois were eligible.

A selection committee comprised of health care professionals reviewed and scored the confidential nomination forms. Christine Crain, Chief Operating Officer at Mercy Kids, is chairing the 2014 Nurse of the Year committee.

Whether serving as health care provider, educator, researcher, volunteer and/or advisor – nurses play a critical role in advancing the mission of March of Dimes. The mission of the March of Dimes is to improve the health of all babies by preventing birth defects, premature birth and infant mortality. The Nurse of the Year initiative supports this mission while recognizing exceptional nurses throughout the state, celebrating the profession, and creating awareness of the strides made in this growing field.

The 2014 Nurse of the Year is presented by the Catherine McAuley School of Nursing Maryville University. Corporate partners include Barnes-Jewish Hospital, Washington University Physicians, St. Louis Children's Hospital, Centene Corporation, Home State Health Plan, Nursewise, Scrubs & Beyond, and Mercy Kids.

Local Finalists include:

Mercy Carthage:

Donnie Harner, Surgical Services

Mercy Joplin:

Barbara West, Advance Practice

Christina Bryant, General Medical (Adult Care)

Judith Russell, Advanced Practice

Nancy Orton, Case Management, Public Heath and Occupational Health

Dianna Frizzell, Behavioral Health

Timothy Smith, Critical Care

Joan Wilson, Education

Dennis Manley, Infection Control & Quality/Risk Management

Kathleen (Kathy) Cowley, Nursing Administration

Ben Parsons, Nursing Student

Michele Stewart, Nursing Administration

Christina Burkybile, Women’s Health & Obstetrics

William Aulick, Critical Care

Rita Glaze, Research

Melinda Estes, Critical Care

Sharon Gilmore, General Medical (Adult Care)

Samantha Gorecki, Rising Star

Brook Bentley, Women’s Health and Obstetrics

Amy Robertson, Charge Nurse & Front Line Supervisor

Media Contacts