Sunshine Award Honors Co-workers Who Shine Bright

August 6, 2019

ST. LOUIS - Four co-workers were the first to be honored with the Sunshine Award, a new award to recognize co-workers and volunteers for their extraordinary services and care. 

Congratulations to the first Sunshine Award recipients:

  • Ernie Blackburn (EVS)
  • Jonathan Charpentier (Sleep Lab)
  • Brandon Quilacio (Security)
  • Anika Reese (Lab)

“Our four Sunshine Award recipients are outstanding role models,” said Steve Mackin, Mercy Hospital St. Louis president. “These co-workers personify the remarkable patient experience we provide. They consistently demonstrate excellence through their extraordinary compassionate care for patients and co-workers.”

mercy-hospital-stl-sunshine-award-080619 Steve Mackin, Mercy Hospital St. Louis president and Tyler Witges, executive director of Lab Services present the Sunshine Award. From left to right: Steve Mackin, Jonathan Charpentier, Anika Reese, Ernie Blackburn and Tyler Witges. Not pictured: Brandon Quilacio.

The honorees received a certificate along with a commemorative pin commending their extraordinary service. The Sunshine Award is part of a recognition and reward program for ancillary care, support services personnel and volunteers.

Four nominees are selected quarterly by the Sunshine Award Committee. Co-workers and volunteers can be nominated for this award by patients, co-workers, visitors and physicians. 

Media Contacts