Trauma and Burn Care FAQs

Trauma and burn care centers are special facilities where emergency care can be given to patients suffering from traumatic injuries. They’re usually open 24-7-365 and can usually provide transportation to any care facility in a timely manner.  

What is a trauma care unit?

A trauma care unit is an area of a hospital that’s equipped to deal with patients suffering from life-threatening injuries. It’s staffed with highly trained physicians and surgeons who have experience performing critical procedures.   

What are the levels of trauma unit?

There are four different levels of a trauma unit. In general, a level 1 trauma unit is able to provide comprehensive trauma care to all its patients, while a level 4 trauma unit can only provide limited care, and may refer patients to another facility for complete care.

What is a trauma emergency?

A trauma emergency refers to a physical injury that requires immediate medical attention. Traumatic emergencies occur during potentially life-changing events, such as car accidents, natural disasters and unexpected falls, for example. 

What is a trauma surgeon?

Trauma surgeons are specifically trained to operate on patients who’ve sustained life-threatening injuries. They’re responsible for treating broken or fractured bones, internal injuries, burn wounds and other traumatic conditions. 

What is considered a trauma patient?

A trauma patient is anyone who has experienced a life-threatening injury as a result of a catastrophic event, such as a car accident, natural disaster and unexpected fall. 

Find a Location

Mercy has trauma specialists across most of our communities. 

Find a trauma location near you.