Mercy Recognizes Outstanding Nurses

Mercy nurses are now eligible for the DAISY Award, an international program that rewards and celebrates the extraordinary skills and compassionate care given by nurses every day.

DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. The family of Patrick Barnes established the Daisy Foundation in 1999 to express gratitude to nurses for the work they do for patients and their families every day. The award is presented in more than 1,900 healthcare facilities in all 50 states and 15 countries.

Read the stories of our latest DAISY Award recipients.  

How to Nominate a Nurse for the DAISY Award

Each quarter, the council will review nominations, and based on key criteria (which align with Mercy values), determine DAISY award recipients. Winners will each receive a special certificate, lapel pin and hand-carved sculpture. A celebratory banner also will hang in the nurse’s unit for a month.

Past DAISY Award Recipients


Andrea Bubenik
Tracy Cook
Dawn Day
Samantha Day
Rachel Gaudet
Katie Gross
Megan Honeycutt
Logan Landmann
Sandy Laramore
Amber Malen
Erica Martin
Dana Matundan
Judy O'Connor-Snyder
Thomas Sorg
Chandra Stueve
Anne Tierney
Sam Ward
Randy Wray
Marykutti Valiaparampil


Kelly Beaver
Eric Bertram
Cathy Briggs
Daniel Campbell
Christa Clay
Alexis Curran
Monica Daugherty
Alyssa Dougan
Grace Garrett
RhoAnn Hanes
Angel Jennewein
Sharon Laws
Olivia McGoon
Katie McKinney
Rhonda Morrow
Kimberly Parrott
Jordyn Pate
Rhonda Philpott
Miranda Pickens
Jenny Stephenson
Kristine Woods
April Zimmermann


Priscilla Atwood
Robert Cassidy
Bobbi Chick
Michelle Luellen
Sharon Picou
Charlotte Rankin
Nicole Ring
Heidi Schisler