Traumatic Injury FAQs

A traumatic injury can completely change someone’s life in the blink of an eye. That’s why hospitals have specific staff in place trained to handle a variety of traumatic incidents and deliver care to anyone affected by a sudden and traumatic event. 

What is a traumatic injury?

Traumatic injury is a term that describes a physical injury that requires immediate medical attention. Traumatic injuries occur during potentially life-changing events, such as car accidents, natural disasters and unexpected falls. 

What are the types of traumatic injuries?

Some common types of traumatic injuries can include: 

  • Spinal cord injury
  • Brain injury
  • Limb amputation
  • Concussions
  • Skull fractures
  • Severe Burns
  • Collapsed lung 

What is the injury severity scale (ISS)?

The injury severity score (ISS) is a medical score that’s used to assess the severity of a traumatic injury. A major traumatic injury is generally defined as having an injury severity score of greater than 15. 

How do you treat a trauma injury?

It depends on what kind of injury has been suffered, but generally, traumatic injuries are treated in an emergency or operating room by a professionally trained trauma team, who are skilled at applying life-saving measures to patients.  

Find a Location

Mercy has traumatic injury specialists across most of our communities. 

Find a traumatic injury location near you.