Mercy Awarded Joint Commission Certifications

July 25, 2012

The Joint Commission Gold Seal of Approval™

ARDMORE, Okla. - Mercy Hospital Ardmore Joint Replacement Center has earned the Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval™ for its hip and knee replacement programs, making it one of only two hospitals in Oklahoma to meet the national health care quality standards.

"In achieving Joint Commission certification, Mercy has demonstrated its commitment to the highest level of care for its patients needing joint replacement," says Jean Range,executive director, Disease-Specific Care Certification, Joint Commission. “Certification is a voluntary process and I commend Mercy for successfully undertaking this challenge to elevate its standard of care and instill confidence in the communities it serves.”

During a rigorous on-site survey in June 2012, a Joint Commission expert evaluated Mercy in three core areas: compliance with consensus-based national standards; effective use of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines to manage and optimize care; and an organized approach to performance measurement and improvement activities.

The Bone and Joint Clinic of Southern Oklahoma physicians have worked hand in hand with Mercy Hospital Ardmore over the last several years to develop the Joint Replacement Center.  Drs. Keith Troop, Richard Greisman and Jeff Cumming have been instrumental in creating the program that exists today. 

“The evaluation helps hospitals identify opportunities to improve care, treatment and services,” said Lori Powell, registered nurse and program coordinator at Mercy Hospital Ardmore Joint Replacement Center. “This program has made huge strides over the last several years and this certification really validates what we do on a daily basis.”

"Being recognized by the Joint Commission shows our team’s dedication to providing exceptional care for our patients,” said Mindy Burdick, Presidentof Mercy Hospital Ardmore. “The most important message this certification sends is that southern Oklahomans who need hip and knee replacements have access to the best possible care, right here in their own backyard.” 

The Joint Commission’s Disease-Specific Care Certification Program is designed to evaluate clinical programs across the continuum of care.


About The Joint Commission: Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 19,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including more than 10,300 hospitals and home care organizations, and more than 6,500 other health care organizations that provide long term care, behavioral health care, laboratory and ambulatory care services. The Joint Commission currently certifies more than 2,000 disease-specific care programs, focused on the care of patients with chronic illnesses such as stroke, joint replacement, stroke rehabilitation, heart failure and many others. The Joint Commission also provides health care staffing services certification for more than 750 staffing offices. An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation's oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at

 About Mercy: Mercy is the sixth largest Catholic health care system in the U.S. and serves more than 3 million people annually. Mercy includes 31 hospitals, more than 200 outpatient facilities, 38,000 co-workers and 1,600 integrated physicians in Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma. Mercy also has outreach ministries in Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. For more about Mercy, visit

Story Covered By

Media Contacts