Thoele Award Presented to Dr. Joan Shaffer

March 2, 2021

ST. LOUISDr. Joan Shaffer, critical care physician and chair of the department of Graduate Medical Education at Mercy Hospital St. Louis, is the 2020 winner of the Charles Thoele Physician Leadership Award. The Thoele Award is presented annually to recognize a practicing physician who demonstrates significant leadership to Mercy’s ministry in St. Louis, upholds the mission of the organization and exemplifies the Mercy values of Justice, Dignity, Service, Excellence and Stewardship. 

Completing her own critical care fellowship at Mercy Hospital St. Louis more than 30 year ago, Dr. Shaffer now leads the program teaching doctors of the future.

“Dr. Shaffer exemplifies the same leadership characteristics of Dr. Chuck Thoele himself,” said Dr. Paul Hintze, the 2019 Thoele Award recipient. “Her role in leading the GME program has been key in working to keep the medical staff strong and well trained. In addition, the influence of the training programs on the quality of care provided in the hospital is significant.”

Past recipients include David Meiners, MD; Chris Veremakis, MD; and Charles H. Rehm, Jr., MD; William Logan, MD; and Paul Hintze, MD.

The award honors Charles E. Thoele, former CEO of Mercy Hospital St. Louis, long-time member and former chair of both the Mercy and Mercy Hospital St. Louis Board of Directors, for his decades of service and vision regarding the importance of physician input into strategy and operational decisions. Mr. Thoele passed away in 2016.

Dr. Joan Shaffer Honored with Thoele Award

Previous winners of the Thoele Award speak about Dr. Joan Shaffer and why she was chosen for the 2020 award.